Heating Pad Cover

Alright, so I said I would make a cover for the heating pad that I made earlier, so I did. It wasn’t quite as simple as making the heating pad, but I managed to do it. I used an envelope design to make the cover. Again, no pattern, just putting together what worked.

First of all get a piece of fabric that you would like to be the cover for your heating pad. You must also have your heating pad to gauge size. I used this silky fabric which is kind of stretchy. It’s nice, but it was a pain to sew with, so if you’re new to sewing use a fabric that doesn’t stretch.

Place your heating pad on top of the fabric about an inch or so away from the edges. It’s best to use the corner of your fabric.Once placed where you want it, cut up the side attached to the rest of the fabric, in this case I cut up the right side since that is where I wanted to cut excess fabric from, do not cut across the top of the heating pad yet.

Turn your heating pad over. What I mean is, flip it up 180 degrees. This is why you shouldn’t cut across the top yet. Once you have flipped the heating pad over you can cut about an inch or so away from the top of the heating pad. This piece of fabric should be big enough to cover your heating pad front and back, it just isn’t sewn up yet.

 

Preparing for sewing the sides

 

I put a liner in my fabric, with another stretchy fabric which wasn’t a good idea. So for the sake of this tutorial don’t use stretchy fabric or put in a liner. What you need to do is turn your fabric wrong side out. Line the left and right sides up, but don’t just fold it over like you’re folding it in half. You are going to leave three or four inches or so at the top. You can see this in this picture. There is still fabric on the top. You need the excess fabric on the top to be your “envelope flap” later. Pin the sides.

 

Sewing up the sides and sewing in the strap

 

So I made a “tie” that I want to use to tie up the heating pad when it’s done. This step is completely optional, but if you do decide to make a “tie” it needs to be sewn in the side. To do so fold the “tie” in half, then remove a pin on one of the sides, place the “tie” in the side where you folded the “tie” then re-pin. You place the “tie” on the inside of your cover, which is actually the outside. If you sew it in while the wrong side is out then your “tie” will end up on the inside rather than the outside where you want it to be. The seam ripper is where I positioned my “tie” inside of the hem I want to sew. Once everything is placed then sew up the sides.

 

Finished sewing up the sides

 

Turn your sewing right-side out and this is what it should look like. Sides sewn together, but the top still in need of hemming. You can give the tie a good tug, it’s not coming out. The next step is to hem up the flap part.

 

Hemming up the top

 

I pinned the flap part to make it neat and tidy. You have to hem the top of the flap as well as the sides above the actual enclosure that hasn’t been hemmed up yet.

 

Making the "envelope" Part

 

Now you have everything nice and hemmed up you actually have to make the envelope part of your envelope cover. You need to take the sides of that flap you just hemmed up and turn it down, line it up with the sides of the main enclosure then pin down. Then sew it together.

 

What it looks like all finished without buttons

 

This is what it looks like when it’s finished. The sides are sewn together, but you have an opening to insert your heating pad into. I decided my flap wasn’t staying closed the way I wanted it to so I added some buttons.

I happened to have two big black buttons which I sewed onto the main body of the cover on the flap side. Then I used two goodies hairbands, yes, goodies hair bands, those things aren’t only for putting your hair up in a pony tail. I fitted them around the button, then sewed through the hair band to the tightness that I wanted. Your hair band will look like a figure eight. Then you sew the top part of that ” figure eight” to the underside of the “flap” part above the buttons. Once it’s sewn in securely this “button” enclosure will keep your flap open.

 

All tied up

 

You can now put the heating pad inside the cover. It may need a little shaking and manipulation to get it in there the way you want it, but as long as you measured according to your heating pad then it will fit. Then fasten your buttons, and you can roll it up for storage and tie it up with the “tie” if you put one in. You can also leave it tied up when you heat it up or cool it down to use.

I am thinking about making a matching eye mask to go with this heating pad and cover.

You could change this cover to use on a corded heating pad if you like. You would have to leave a place for the cord to exit the main enclosure, but that is the only modification for an electronic heating pad.

If you use a silky type fabric like the one I used it can go in the microwave, but I wouldn’t put it in there above three or four minutes.

The strap or “tie” I made for the heating pad is just a long strip of the same fabric hemmed up on the right and left sides and one long edge. If you are using a thicker fabric like fleece or flannel you could just cut a long piece of fabric and leave the edges raw in order to make a “tie” to tie it up, you don’t even have to sew it on, but this one I wanted to sew it on so it was always attached.

 

 

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Sewing projects. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

