A Great Biscuit Recipe

 

Oh my Gosh look at those biscuits, all fluffy and stuff

 

 

I recently received my January issue of Food and Wine and there happened to be this biscuit recipe I wanted to try in this issue. I have only made biscuits twice from scratch. The first time I am not sure if it was the recipe or me, but those biscuits did not rise up and become fluffy, they just stayed flat and hard. So I was kind of reluctant to try and make biscuits, but since biscuits are like a “must-have” southern breakfast food I decided I would give it a try again.

The recipe:

  • 4 cups flour
  • 2 TBSPs salt
  • 1-1/2 TBSPs baking powder
  • 1 TSP baking soda
  • 2 Sticks butter(1 cup) unsalted
  • 1-1/2 cups buttermilk

Pre-heat your oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

In a large bowl whisk the flour with the salt, baking powder, and baking soda. (note: if you are using salted butter DO NOT put in the full amount of salt the recipe calls for.)

Next, using a pastry blender or two knives cut in the butter until it is the size of small peas. This butter is going to make your dough soft and flaky, but that two knives thing just doesn’t work. Cut your butter up into cubes about a half-inch across before you even put it in the flour. Then mix it with your hands. Make sure your hands are clean first of all. If you don’t have a pastry blender that two knife thing just doesn’t work. You can probably do this in a food processor, but I don’t have one of those. Just get your hands in that butter and flour and squish the butter through the flour. It takes a little muscle work, but it will turn out the same.

Next add the butter milk and stir until a shaggy dough forms. I don’t know what a shaggy dough is. I assume maybe it means sticky or something? The only things I think of when I hear the word shaggy are The Shaggy Dog or Shaggy from Scooby Doo and I doubt this recipe calls for dough that is really hairy or really hungry so just stir it all up until it’s mixed together, don’t worry about the shaggy part.

Ok as for buttermilk. That isn’t something I buy when I go grocery shopping. In fact I can’t even get it here unless it’s in powdered form. Do not fret if you do not have butter milk, just make sour milk.

Sour milk:

Using a liquid measuring cup put 1 TBSP of white vinegar into the measuring cup, then fill up to the 1 Cup mark with milk. You now have sour milk and you can use this in place of butter milk. For a half cup, put 1 TSP+ 1/2 TSP into the measuring cup then fill to the 1/2 cup mark.

Now, turn your dough out onto a floured surface and knead it until it all comes together. Then pat it down to 3/4 inch thickness, you can also use a rolling-pin.

Then using a 3-1/2 inch round cutter stamp out as many biscuits as possible, then re-roll extra dough and stamp out more biscuits. Keep going until all the dough is used up.

Ok I don’t have a biscuit cutter so I used a drinking glass. Yes, you can do that. Find a glass with the mouth the same size as you would like your biscuits and use it to cut out your biscuits.

Put those biscuits on your baking sheets and bake for about 30 minutes until golden and risen.

The biscuits came out wonderfully! I might take them out of the oven a little sooner next time, but they turned out great. They taste great too.

For a sandwich, split in half, you don’t even really need a knife for this part, since they are so flaky, toast top and bottom of biscuits on stove in a pan or in the toaster( note: if you use the toaster remember to turn the setting down).

Cook one egg per sandwich in a small frying pan liberally sprayed with non-stick spray, olive oil, or butter. The pan should be on medium-low heat. Beat the egg with black pepper before you put it in the frying pan. Let egg cook until it’s solidified on top and then slide out of the pan.

Cook one slice of bacon per sandwich. You can do it on the stove or in the microwave.

Then put egg, bacon and a slice of cheese on your biscuit sandwich, drink with orange juice and enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

