Eye Mask with Foam

 

cut a piece of foam to use

 

I recently made an eye mask with a rice insert, so this is going to be an eye mask without a rice insert. I am using a piece of foam for the inside which will be formed to have a place for the nose and raised areas over the eyes.

I first got a piece of foam it’s 1 inch thick, about 9 inches long and 6 inches wide. This is actually some packing foam I saved from when  I ordered something.

I used the smaller eye mask shape that was used previously making the eye mask with the rice insert to trace out a shape onto the foam. I used scissors to cut it out, then cut the shape smaller by about 1/2 an inch all the way around. Now comes the difficult part, and this is literally the hardest and messiest part of this entire project.

 

Getting ready to shape the foam

 

 

I used a small pair of snippers(used to cut thread) to shape a place for the nose and eyes. I drew two circular areas for the eyes and a triangular area for the nose, these areas are my guidelines for how to shape this piece.

 

The shaped piece

 

After quite a long time of shaping this is the piece I ended up with. I made a huge mess and got little bits of foam everywhere. As you can see there is a raised up place for the nose and there are in fact raised places for the eyes, even though it may be hard to tell in this photo.

 

Shapes ready to cut out

 

I then used the larger shape I used in the previous eye mask project to outline two shapes on fabric to cut out. This is non stretchy fabric so it’s going to be much easier to sew with. Don’t be afraid to use old clothes for projects like this. If you can’t wear it anymore for whatever reason, cut it up and sew with it.

 

Sewing elastic on

 

On this eye mask I chose to use a single long piece of elastic to secure the eye mask to the head. It’s stretchy and simple. The piece of elastic is an inch wide and about 12-14 inches long. Just make sure whatever piece you use can fit around the intended head from temple to temple around the backside with some left over for sewing it on.

I sewed the elastic on to one of the pieces. I sewed it onto the GOOD SIDE because I want the strap to be on the outside of the eye mask not sewn up inside of it.

After sewing the elastic on I then pinned the other piece for the eye mask down onto the piece with the elastic sewn on.

All pinned up and ready to sew

 

I, once again, did not pin the top because that is how I am going to turn it right side out and finish it up. So I pinned the sides and around the bottom. Then I sewed it up.

 

Completing the eye mask

 

Once I was done sewing that part up, I turned it right side out and inserted the foam part of the eye mask. Nose piece going down. Then I turned over the edges on top and pinned them together to sew the whole thing up. I chose to sew all the way around the edge just to make the sewing look cohesive since I used a different color thread. I took special care not to sew the nose part down to the fabric. The rims of the eye area where level with the fabric, but the nose piece was raised up at the edge and I didn’t want to mess that up.

 

Complete

Here is the completed eye mask.

 

 

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Sewing projects. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

