Gathering Board Made Out of an Old Frame

I know everyone tends to have little bits of paper and miscellaneous things that they don’t have a permanent place for, so they end up on a counter, on a table, on a shelf, or stuffed in a drawer. Well you can change that. You need an old frame and a few other supplies and you will have a place to put those miscellaneous bits of stuff.

 

The old frame to be used

 

In the ghetto-fied apartment building that I live in, people often leave things they don’t want anymore on the ground floor for anybody to take. One day I found this frame and knew I had to get it so I could do something with it. The frame needed a paint job pretty badly.

I finally decided what I was going to do. I thought of all kinds of different ideas, but I decided to make what I decided to call a gathering board because it’s a place to gather miscellaneous stuff.

I started off by painting the frame.

Frame is painted waiting for a second coat

 

I put down some plastic to protect the floor and got to work. I was originally going to use a dragon-fly fabric I had for the middle, but then I decided I want to do something daintier, but then I decided that I wanted to use this in my kitchen, so it should match the curtains in my kitchen. So that is what I did. I put two coats of paint on which dried to a very nice color. Then I set it aside because it has to dry and I had to work on the rest of the project.

 

The cardboard is marked around the edge

 

The cardboard back that came with the frame is what I wanted to concentrate on next. I took a permanent marker and marked about a quarter of an inch all the way around because that is the area that will be behind the frame. In the middle I am going to put foam. I chose foam because I had some on hand and I could still push push pins into it and they will stay.

 

Sizing the piece of card board for foam

 

I took my foam pieces and put them on the piece of cardboard to determine where they would need to be and how much I would need to use. I cut and placed foam for a while until I had the whole area covered. I actually used smaller pieces of foam in a 1 inch perimeter around the main portion. I did this because I wanted a bit of a slope where the padding and fabric would meet the frame.

 

All the foam is on the cardboard

 

I glued the foam down with hot glue and then took some thread and a needle and sewed all the pieces together on top to get rid of any large gaps. Once that was finished I turned my attention to concentrate on the fabric.

 

sizing up the fabric and layout

I put the fabric pieces over the foam board how I wanted them to look. I even decided to make a pocket on it. I pinned the pieces together and sewed them up. The fabric has to be larger than the piece of foam/cardboard by several inches because it has to fold over the back and the foam added volume to the cardboard.

The fabric piece is sewn

 

Next I had to attach the finished fabric cover to the foam/cardboard piece.

 

The fabric is stapled to the back

 

I used staples to attach it to the cardboard on the back. I then put this in the frame. Since the foam piece was bigger than the previous piece that was in this frame I did not use the large staples that were placed in the back of the frame to keep artwork in. I got out my point driver and put new ones in. If you don’t have a point driver you could use staples or even small nails.

 

It's finished and it works!

 

I decided to hang this on my kitchen door. My kitchen door has a glass window that really isn’t good for anything. I used one of those quick release Scotch hangers to make a hook to hang the frame on.

I had to tighten up the existing picture wire a little since it was very loose. Tightening up picture wire is very easy. All you do is unravel one end, pull it tighter through the little loop, or around the nail, however it is done, and then re-twist the picture wire.

I tacked things that usually just sit on my counter to my gathering board. Coupons, subway stamps, and a couple other things found their home on my gathering board. The pocket is a great place for pieces of mail. Regular push pins work just fine in the foam. This is the first time I have made something like this so perhaps there will be more ideas for the use of old frames. We shall see.

 

 

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

