Newspaper Market Bag

This project is going to be hard to explain, so I am just going to narrate what I did. It’s a market bag made out of braided newspaper. Braided newspaper is quite strong despite the flimsy character of newsprint. I started with quite a bit of braided newspaper.

I made two long strands tied together at the ends with twine to make the straps of my bag. I chose to weave the straps into the bag itself to give it more strength. I decided to use twine to keep the bag more natural. I would have chosen to use hot glue or masking tape in another project.

I started by laying out strips to make up the bottom across the box I was using for a form. I chose to weave the bottom of the bag together like a basket.

I then started on the strips that were to go in the other direction. I wove the strip over and under the other strips.

I then tied each joint together with the twine. I wanted the bottom of the bag to be strong.

This is the bottom all woven and tied together.

I then decided to flip the whole thing over, so my knots would be on the inside of the bag instead of the outside of the bag. The next step was to weave a piece over and under all the strands hanging down in order to make the sides.

In this picture the sides were starting to take shape. I tied the corner pieces together to keep some shape in the corners.

In this picture the sides are almost completely done. I had to flip the whole thing over to finish the sides up.

I finished weaving the sides. The pieces that were left over I turned over and wove back down into the sides.

In this picture the edges are all finished, but I wanted to work on the straps some more.

After I did some strengthening/beautifying of the straps the whole thing was finished.

I decided to put some items in the bag to test out its strength. I put ten pounds of groceries in the bag and hung it off of a chair and it didn’t break!

The end result turned out to be quite large. It’s big enough to fit a lot of stuff on a trip to the farmers market, flea market, or wherever and it’s strong. I won’t be making one of these again for a while since it took so much time, effort, sweat, blood, and tears, well not tears, but definitely everything else. I busted open the cuticle on a couple of fingers while weaving this bag. In the end I ended up with a truly recycled project.

 

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Paper crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

