Southwestern Pinto Bean Soup

 

mmmmm soup

 

Today started out as a rainy and cold day where I am at. I decided soup would be the way to go today. This is a recipe I really like called “Southwestern Pinto Bean Soup” it’s from The Good Carb Cookbook.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups dried pinto beans
  • 5-1/2 cups water
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 TBSP + 1 TSP chicken bouillon cubes(Note: bouillon cubes have MSG in them, so I used a chicken base called “better than bouillon”)
  • 1 pound chicken
  • 2 TSPs crushed garlic
  • 1 TBSP chili powder
  • 1 TSP ground cumin
  • 1(14-1/2 oz) can of crushed tomatoes

The first step in creating this soup is to soak your beans. I used the quick soak method I mentioned in a previous post. You could also soak your beans overnight if you wish.

Once the beans are done with the soaking procedure place them into your pot. Add the water, onions and chicken base. If you use the chicken base it’s one TSP to every cup of water, so that means 5-1/2 TSPs of chicken base.

Bring everything to a boil then reduce the heat. Cover and simmer for 50 minutes.

Cut up the chicken into bite sized pieces. Add to the rest of the ingredients. Then add the spices. Then cover and simmer for 30 minutes.You could also use another type of meat if you wanted to instead of the chicken.

After the 30 minutes are up add the tomatoes then simmer for an additional 30 minutes.

You can let the soup simmer for a little while longer if you wish, but it’s done at this point.

I used grated cheddar cheese and green onion slices to garnish the top of my soup.

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

