Making a Sweater Gather

pinch the back

I don’t know about some of you, but I have sweaters that are just way too big in the waist. I am too much of a cheap skate to get rid of an otherwise good sweater, so I just want to tweak my sweater enough to where it fits better in the waist.

The first step is to put your sweater on. Stand in front of a full-length mirror and pinch the back. Pinch enough of the back of the sweater to where your waist is more defined. You can make it any tightness that you like. Once you have the amount pinched in the back use a safety-pin and put it through your pinch as shown in the picture above.

Making a fan shape

Lay your sweater out on a table. Work with your pinched area and make it look kind of like a fan shape. I placed several pleats to give it a little flair.Once you have your fan shape made up place safety pins through your gather about an inch and a half apart.

sewing it up

The next step is to sew. This is being sewn by hand, so get out a needle and color coordinating thread. Sew through your gather from side to side along the length between the two safety pins. Sew up and down this area about three times. Once you are done sewing take the safety pins out.

finished gather

Here is this finished gather. I chose to make a gather instead of taking in the sides, because I am not versed in knitting and there is no telling what I would have down to my sweater if I had cut the sides.

So if you have a sweater that you want to keep, but it just doesn’t fit right in the waist you can do this.

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Sewing projects. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

