How to make a Hippie Shirt Less Hippie

 

The hippie shirt in question

 

I have had a few hippie shirts throughout the years. I have had this one since high school and it’s been sitting in a pile of clothes in one of my closets waiting to be made-over. I decided it was just too hippie. Although in high school I would have gladly worn this anytime it’s just not something I would wear as is now. What really was driving me nuts were the sleeves.

They sleeves are long and somewhat bell-shaped with a slit in the bottom. I decided to cuff them to make them less hippie. After all, I have seen some really cute shirts that are long, but have cuffed sleeves.

 

ironed up

 

The first thing I did was iron the shirt, especially taking care to get the sleeves ironed and the seams aligned while doing so.

 

folding over

The next thing I did was to fold over the sleeve at the bottom once. I used the slit in the bottom of the sleeve as a guide for how far to fold the sleeve over. It turns out there was actually some paint on one of the sleeves at the end, so I would have had to either cut it off or cuff it in order to wear it again.

all cuffed up!

I actually measured my arm from the shoulder to determine how long I wanted the sleeves to be. I used a fabric measuring tape and measured from the shoulder seam of my current shirt down to my elbow. That was my number for the length of the sleeve. I ended up having to fold it over three times. I then Ironed the cuff so it was nice and flat.

tacking the cuff down

 

I wanted to make the cuff permanent so I took a needle and some thread to sew the cuff through. I attached the cuff at the top and bottom of each sleeve in one place. I did this to both sleeves.

 

Finished!

 

My shirt was finally finished. It looked less hippie, although it still looks somewhat hippie, but less so. I couldn’t wait to try it on. So I did.

 

It’s a sad story, even though I am smaller than when I last  wore this shirt, it doesn’t fit! I was so mad! Certain parts of me did not want to cooperate. I thought I was getting a new-to-me-re-made shirt, but I guess I’ll have to find someone to give it to. It’s sad it fits everywhere, but one place. *oh sigh* 😦

 

Anyways, if you have a shirt you want to spiffy up a bit, putting some permanent cuffs in the sleeves is one way you can do so. Happy re-making!

 

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Sewing projects. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

