Coconut Butter Cookies

 

Yum, cookies. This is another recipe from Cooking with Coconut Flour. I decided that I would try this one out. I reasoned out that if you’re using coconut flour you should definitely be able to make coconut macaroons right? Well, not exactly. I tried, it turned out awful, so when I read the description of this recipe I decided I had to try it because it said, “These are similar in taste to coconut macaroons.”

The recipe:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup sifted coconut flour
  • 2 cups grated or flaked coconut

A little info: You could potentially substitute coconut oil for the butter in this recipe, but I wouldn’t try it. Cookies are always better with butter and don’t you dare try to use margarine(that stuff isn’t even real!)

Mix together butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla. I used xylitol instead of sugar. If you are going to use xylitol use 1/2 cup xylitol crystals plus 1 TBSP xylitol crystals.

Stir in coconut flour and coconut.

Drop spoon-sized mounds 1-inch apart on a greased cookie sheet. Ok, the previous sentence is what the directions actually say. This is how I am going to tell you to do it. Your cookies are going to have to be small the get the 2 dozen the recipe says you can make with this batch. So use not quite whole spoonfuls when making the cookies. Don’t grease a cookie sheet, use parchment paper. Coconut flour sticks, there is no way around that. I know there is supposed to be some magical coconut oil and something else mixture that works wonders as far as greasing pans, but I don’t have any coconut oil and you probably don’t either, so use parchment paper.

Bake at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for 18-20 minutes. You’re going to want to keep closer to 18 minutes.

Some of these cookies are going to spread a bit, but that is ok, they still taste fine. They do have a very nice taste.

I am actually going to work on creating chocolate and peanut butter versions of this recipe, maybe I will even do a chocolate-peanut butter version of this recipe, but when I figure those out I will post them on here. Have fun baking with coconut!

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

