Brownie Pudding Cake

 

This is an easy and chocolate-y recipe from the Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book. I don’t why it’s called new the thing has been around forever. Anyways, I really wanted some chocolate, I wasn’t going to the store, and I only had one egg, so that leaves a lot of options out. So I made this stand by.

The Recipe:

  • 1 Cup flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 TBSPs unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 TSPs baking powder
  • 1/4 TSP salt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 TBSPs cooking oil
  • 1 TSP vanilla
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts(optional)
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1-1/2 cups boiling water.

Let’s get right into the construction of this treat. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a bowl mix together the flour, sugar(as in the white stuff not the brown sugar), the 2 TBSPs cocoa powder, the baking powder, and the salt. The salt is optional, you don’t have to add it. I usually don’t, but salt does enhance the flavor of chocolate. I am not really sure why, but it does.

This recipe works equally fine with whole wheat flour, although, it is a bit grainy if you’re not used to eating whole wheat flour all the time.

In another bowl, go ahead and measure out your brown sugar and the 1/4 cup cocoa powder. I like to measure out all my dry ingredients first because I don’t have a million measuring cups and spoons and I am not going to stop making my recipe to wash them. So measure your dry ingredients first.

Back to the first bowl that has the flour mixture. Pour in your milk, vanilla, and cooking oil. This is your chance to make this recipe lower calorie. Instead of whole milk use skim milk. instead of cooking oil, which has hydrogenated oils in it and trans fat use a non-hydrogenated oil. You can also substitute applesauce or flax-seed meal for your oil. Substitute applesauce tablespoon per tablespoon. There will be a noticeable fruity flavor in the finished product, but it’s just fine. For flaxseed mill, which you can get at the grocery store, substitute three TBSPs for every 1 TBSP of cooking oil. I actually only substituted for half of the oil. I only saved about thirty calories, but I didn’t get all the bad fats that I would have. There really isn’t that much of a difference if you use flaxseed meal, although I did need to add an extra TBSP or two of water.

Mix everything in the bowl together. This is where you are going to stir your nuts in. If you don’t want to use walnuts try some other kind of nut. You could even stir chocolate chips in here, if you want this recipe to be extra decadent. It’s going to be gooey and rather thick. That is fine, that is the way it’s supposed to be. Spray a pan, with cooking spray or your choice of lubricant. Put the gooey batter in. Spread it out over the bottom of the pan.

If you want to jazz up this recipe a bit, you can experiment with different extracts. You don’t have to use just plain vanilla, but remember it usually takes less of other extracts than it does vanilla. You could try peppermint, orange, almond, walnut, or even hazelnut syrup.

Now, turn your attention to the other bowl. Measure out 1-1/2 cups of water, bring it to boiling on the stove or in the microwave. Now pour it into the brown sugar and cocoa powder. Stir it to make sure that all the sugar and cocoa powder are dissolved. Now take this liquid and pour it over your batter in the pan. I know it sounds weird, but it totally works, trust me. You are essentially pouring hot chocolate down over your batter, yum.

Put the pan in the oven and bake for 40 minutes.

Ok, get ready for the magic. When you pull it out of the oven, it’s going to  be cake on top even though you poured a bunch of liquid over your batter. Awesome right? The most awesome part is what is underneath the cake, syrupy goodness. That is right, underneath that top layer of cake is a layer of chocolate syrup that you can spoon over your cake. You can eat this hot, which I prefer, or cool. For added awesomeness, once you have some of this scooped out in a bowl to eat, put some vanilla ice cream on top.  Enjoy this super easy dessert!

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

