Cocoa Bottom Banana Bars

 

My husband brought home some very ripe bananas yesterday. They were on sale because they were over ripe. I thought what am I going to do with those bread, muffins, or smoothie? No, that was the same-old same-old for using up ripe bananas. Bananas are actually hard to keep here. They get ripe very, very fast. So it’s somewhat necessary to have recipes on hand to use up those bananas. I decided upon a recipe I had seen, but I hadn’t tried yet.

the recipe:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 5 ripe bananas
  • 1 egg
  • 1 TSP vanilla
  • 1-1/2 cups flour
  • 1 TSP baking powder
  • 1 TSP baking soda
  • 1/2 TSP salt
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

First, coming the sugar and butter in a large bowl and beat it. Usually you soften butter at room temperature, but I don’t always do that. The microwave is my friend. once the sugar and butter are good friends add the bananas, egg and vanilla.

You can mash-up your bananas a couple of ways fork + bananas=mashed bananas, potato masher+ bananas=mashed bananas, or blender+bananas+egg+chop button=mashed bananas.

On another note, bananas are supposed to help with headaches. Remember that annoying commercial about the Head on stuff? “Head on, apply directly the forehead, Head on apply directly the forehead.” Yeah, it’s made with the same compounds found in bananas. So you can actually put a banana peel on your forehead and get the same effect. Although I haven’t noticed any big improvement using the method to treat migraines. Maybe it only works on certain types of headaches.  The Head On stuff doesn’t really work for migraines either.

Set aside the wet stuff. Mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl. You don’t have to put the salt in, especially if you used salted butter.

Mix the dry ingredients in with the wet ingredients. Divide your batter in half. Stir the cocoa powder into one of the halves.

Spread the cocoa powdered batter into the bottom of a 9X13 greased pan. Then spread the un-cocoa powdered batter on top of that. You can use a butter knife to swirl it around if you want.

Bake 30-35 minutes or until edges are lightly browned.

I am going to let you in on a secret. I forgot to add baking soda to my batter and I only added baking powder. They still turned out great! They are more like brownies in texture without the baking soda. So here is a tip, if you want the fluffy light bars use the baking soda and baking powder, if you want the denser brownie like bars use only the baking powder.

These were really good. They smelled like Ben & Jerry’s chunky monkey ice cream. If I would have had walnuts those would have went straight into this recipe.

This recipe is from a book called Incredibly Easy Cookies, it was a Barnes and Noble bargain bin find a few years ago.

Don’t limit yourself to banana nut bread when your bananas get too ripe.

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

