Handkerchief Art Roll Up

No, it’s not a food. I had several plain handkerchiefs that I wanted to do something with, but what. So I was experimenting with folding them and came up with one idea, but while making that idea, I came up with this idea.

First off get a handkerchief. It doesn’t matter what color. It can be any color you want. Fold over about a third of it onto itself as shown.

Next get some cord, ribbon, or whatever to use for ties on the roll up. I used some old pajama cords, waste not want not. Fold back one of the sides you folded over already and place the cord there. Now fold the side of the handkerchief back over the cord and pin everything in place. You are going to sew up both sides of the handkerchief where you folded it up. Make sure you do not sew the cord anywhere into the handkerchief but where you intend it to be sewn in.

This is what it looks like after you have sewn up the sides and turned it the right side out. Now we need to sew in some pockets for pencils, pens, and paintbrushes and such. I was originally going to sew them all the way across, but decided that I would like a sketchbook to fit in one side. So we’re going to sew pencil pockets in about half of the piece and the rest will be a big pocket. You are going to need a ruler to mark places for your pencil pockets.

Lay your ruler across your roll up. Using a fabric marker mark about every 1/2 inch to 3/4 inch. You do not have to position the markings the same width apart. Everyone has pencils and pens and such that are of different sizes. Just make little marks every so often wherever you want a pencil pocket to be.

Next take your ruler and create straight lines all the way down through your little marks. This is so you can sew straight. I have had the chance to sew pencil pockets several times and if I do not mark a line where I am supposed to sew it ends up crooked. So mark your lines where you are going to sew. As I said, originally I was going to sew pencil pockets all the way through this, but I changed my mind that is why there are marks all the way across the roll up.

Take your roll up to the sewing machine and sew down each line you marked. Yes, on the outside. You can color coordinate the color of the thread and fabric if you want to, but I didn’t. You can clearly see the lines where I sewed them into the roll up.After all the lines you want sewn into the roll up are sewn in, snip off all of the loose strings hanging around.

Ta-Da! this is what it looks like opened when it’s finished. I have paintbrushes, a pencil and a pen on the side with the pencil pockets and a sketchbook on the other side with the big pocket.

 

 

Here is what it looks like closed and tied up. Now I put multiple pencils and a sketchbook in the same container and it’s only a handkerchief and some old pajama cord. I’m going to think of lots of fun projects along the lines of this project.

 

 

 

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Sewing projects. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Handkerchief Art Roll Up

  1. kim says:

    I have done this w/ placemats! It is an easy and excellent project. The yw at our church have some small books they use and this keeps the book, pens, scripture markers and other small items organized!

Leave a Reply

