Simple Padded Camera Strap

I know all you hard-core photographers out there have a big DLSR camera that can get quite heavy after carrying it around on your neck for a while. Don’t despair! A simple padded camera strap is easy to make.

Ok, actually it’s more like a padded camera strap sleeve, but it’s still easy to make.

Start out by taking your camera strap off your camera. See here is my strap for my canon rebel.

You’re going to need something for your padding. You can use batting, an old blanket, or even foam. You can do it in a single layer, a double layer, or whatever you want.

To measure for the padding place your camera strap on your padding, I am using batting so we are going to refer to the padding as batting from now on. The width of the piece you need for your padding needs to be twice the width of your camera strap + about an 3/4-1 inch more. See those leather or leather like things on your strap? Between those is going to be your length. The padding is the most important measurement of this entire thing. It needs to be correct. Camera straps are of course different sizes so I can’t give you exact measurements. The cuts need to be straight so if you have to get out your giant t-square like I did, do so. In the end you should have a piece of batting that is the length between those two leather things on your strap, and so wide that you can turn your strap over once and still have some room.

You next need to cut a piece of fabric for the outside. You can be as creative as you want with this. It can be funky, it can be black, it can be girly, it can be classy or whatever you want. I would stay away from stuff like vinyl and leather-a-likes, just stick with regular cloth.

To measure your cloth lay the batting down on top of the cloth. You need 1/2 inch all the way around the batting because that is going to be turned over the edge of the batting and sewn to the batting. So cut a rectangle 1/2 inch bigger all the way around than the batting.

To the side here, you can see that my piece of cloth is bigger than the piece of batting all the way around.

Next, fold the edges of the fabric over the batting and pin them to the batting. If you have trouble with the corners fold one side first, then fold from the very tip of the corner down, then fold the other side. It won’t be pointy, but more of a rounded edge.

Here is what it looks like from the other side all pinned up. The next step is to take this to the sewing machine. You will need to sew all the way around the perimeter of the piece. Sew between 1/4-1/2 inch in.

The next step after this is going to be to sew up the side. Maybe later I will make a padded strap that zips, snaps, or Velcro up on the top. but this one is going to be sewn up on the side.

 

You will need to fold the whole thing in half length-wise. Make sure it is folded perfectly in half. Then pin it together. You are going to sew up the side that isn’t already sewn together. Sew very close to the edge. Not so close that your sewing is going to come apart if you pull on it, but close to the edge.

 

 

 

 

Here is it all finished! Well, not exactly… what kind of person would I be if I didn’t show you how to get this on your camera strap?

 

 

 

 

 

Ok, get a wire hanger and unbend it, I know that is my answer to everything like this, but do it. Stick the end with the hook all the way through your padded strap. When it comes out of the other side loop the camera strap around the hook. You can compress the hook a little to make it easier to pull through the sleeve and to keep your strap attached to it.

The only thing to do now it pull it through. The most difficult part to get through this sleeve is going to be that leather part I pointed out earlier because it’s a little wider than the rest of the strap. Don’t worry, it still fits, you’ll just have to put a little more effort into getting it through.

Here it is all the way through! Here is also another strap I made earlier. Now I have two. I can change them when my mood demands it. Unfortunately I can’t take a picture of what this looks like attached to my camera because I was using my camera,  use your imaginations.

This is an easy project to make using your camera a more comfortable experience and it also adds some personality to your camera.

 

 

 

 

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Sewing projects. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

