Yummy Cream of Tomato Soup

Ok, who doesn’t love a good bowl of tomato soup. I know I do. Crumble up some crackers in it and it’s good enough for breakfast even. Yeah, I know tomato soup isn’t the first thing you think of for breakfast, but it’s good enough to eat for breakfast is what I’m saying.

This is not my recipe but a recipe from The Fannie Farmer Cookbook which I could marry if I was allowed to be married to more than one person at once and if books counted as people. I love this cookbook. I just got it a few days ago in the mail and it’s the most awesome cookbook so far. I found the simplest recipe for cream of tomato soup in it and it’s just awesome. I will tell you how to make this.

The recipe:

  • 5 TBSPs butter
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 4 TBSPs flour
  • 4 cups milk
  • 1/2 bay leaf
  • 1-1/2 TSP sugar
  • 1-1/2 TSP salt
  • 1/2 TSP baking soda
  • 3 cups tomatoes, chopped or canned( I will tell you about canned tomatoes 🙂 )

First of all chop up your onion very finely and put it in your pot with the butter. Turn it on medium heat and let the butter cook the onions. Cook the onions until they are tender.

Put the flour in with the onion and butter. You can also put a little of the salt and pepper in at this point as well. You need to cook this mixture for a minute or two stirring frequently. Then you can add the milk. At this point add your bay leaf. Let it cook until thickened. To thicken it up bring it just to boiling and it will thicken like magic and then turn the heat back down so it doesn’t boil over.

To prepare the tomatoes. I used canned tomatoes and the recipe turned out just fine. I actually used organic canned tomatoes. You need a 28oz can of tomatoes to make the three cups. You will have a few ounces left over, but that is ok. Put the tomatoes in the blender. Everything, don’t drain them. Add the sugar, baking soda, salt, and pepper that is left over and onion powder if you like. Puree the mixture. The baking soda keeps the milk in the soup from curdling. What I did before I added the tomatoes was strain them. I put a sieve over my pot and strained the tomatoes through it while adding them to the soup. This prevents seeds from getting in your soup.

Once the tomatoes are in, it’s done, or you can let it simmer a little longer so the flavors meld more.  It makes seven cups.

I put crackers and cheese in mine. They’re weren’t the regular saltines because apparently those have HFCS in them and we don’t eat that. So we got some Red Oval Farm’s Stoned wheat thins. I admit the first thing I thought of when I read the name were regular wheat thins getting high. Maybe they should have called them Stone Ground What Thins. I think that would have made a lot more sense, but they still taste good.

This soup is easy to make. If all you have in your fridge is half an onion, some milk, and some butter and you have a can of tomatoes in your cabinet, you can throw this soup together in no time.

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

