Jewelry Roll Up

Here I am, at it again making things to make my upcoming traveling more organized. This one happens to be a jewelry roll up, made out of a shirt and a few other items. I of course, can’t take my whole jewelry box with me when I travel. I want my essential jewelry with me, so I actually have it to where. What better way to do that than to have a jewelry roll up.

If you would like to create a jewelry roll up you will need ribbon, an old shirt with a sash, some batting, a piece of nylon screen, and another color coordinating fabric. That other fabric can be another old shirt or in my case part of an old sheet.

The first thing I did was cut out a piece of batting 10 X 14 inches. I also cut out a smaller piece of batting, about 2.5 inches wide and 6 inches long. This is going to be used for something else. I gathered a piece of nylon screen, it’s really flexible, and I had some left over from another project.

I used part of an old shirt for this roll up. In fact I had already used part of the shirt in another project and still had plenty of fabric left over. To use an old shirt, cut along all of the seams. Once you have all the pieces cut, iron those pieces, so you can tell how big they are. You don’t have to use a seam ripper, you can just cut the seams.

The shirt I was using had a sash, well rather two sashes that tied in the back, and some brown trim in various places. I cut the sash off as well as some of the brown trim.

The first thing I did was cut out all the fabric I was going to need. I decided I needed fabric for one envelope pocket, a ring holder, and a flap to go over my earring screen, yes that is what the screen is for.

I cut a piece out of the shirt that was about an inch bigger all the way around than the batting. I cut an identical piece out of the old sheet. I also cut another piece out of the sheet and folded it in half, which I was going to use for my necklace pocket. Each piece had a corresponding piece of the other fabric. I wanted everything to be lined.

As you can see in the picture above, I went ahead and pinned several things together. I pinned that brown trim I cut off my shirt around my piece of screen. I didn’t want the raw edges of the screen showing. I then sewed all this stuff together.

This is the flap for my screen. When I pinned it together I also pinned some ribbon inside of it, so I could have a way of securing the flap shut. Remember, when you sew a piece of ribbon or whatever into something like this you need to pin the ribbon on the inside.  After I got the flap all closed up, I sewed all around the edges to give it a nicer look.

Remember that other piece of batting I cut? That was for my ring holder. I first cut a piece of the shirt fabric that the batting would fit inside of. I pinned that fabric together and pinned a ribbon on one end of it. Once the entire thing was sewn up and secure. I then folded it over to get the sort of padded shape I have here. I then sewed the folds in place.

This piece of fabric was the piece I cut and then folded in half. Why did I do this? I wanted all the pockets to be lined and this piece was going to end up making my necklace pocket. This is also what all my other pockets will be sewn to since this will be on front. I sewed a little hem across the top, just to make it look neater. This piece of fabric, when folded over, should reach about 3/4 up the width of the piece of batting. Basically it’s going to end up being about 6 inches or so by ten inches long, when it’s sewn in, but of course here there is extra for hemming. There is no need to hem the edges of this, because that will be taken care of later.

I then took the piece I just sewed and place it on top of the batting. I then used a fabric marker to mark where the batting was on top of the fabric. Notice it does not completely cover the batting, that is the way it’s supposed to be.

I then placed my ring holder, my bracelet envelope pocket, and my earring screen and flap on the piece of fabric. I moved them around a little to determine exactly where I wanted them, then I used my marker again to mark where they were on the fabric. I then took it to the sewing machine and sewed them on.

I needed additional pieces of ribbon sewn onto the piece to tie the other pieces of ribbon to. Each end of the ribbon that is showing needs to be turned over and hemmed. You don’t want it to fray. I marked where I wanted the ribbon to go before I sewed it on. Then I sewed it on.

Next I got the piece of fabric that I cut to go on one side of the batting. This piece has another piece that is exactly the same size, but in the shirt fabric. The piece out of the shirt fabric is for the back, the piece out of the sheet fabric is for the inside.

I laid the piece with the pockets over the piece of sheet fabric, then laid the piece of batting under that. I then sewed that all together as seen in the picture above. This created a big pocket behind the piece of fabric with the pockets on it. The big pocket is for the necklaces, and the fabric on top is where I am going to sew the ribbons to hold the necklaces in place.

I cut small lengths of ribbon, folded the raw edges over, then folded it in a loop. I pinned those down to the top of the fabric. I then sewed them in. The idea is that you can loop a necklace through the loops of the ribbon.

Once all my loops were sewn on, I then got the sashes and that piece of shirt fabric. I pinned this main piece and the shirt fabric good side to good side. I also pinned the sashes on the inside as well. I wanted it to roll up from the ring end, so I put the sashes on the earring end. I sewed all of this together. Be careful not to sew any ribbons into this. After I had turned it the right side out and hemmed up the top, I then sewed all the way around on the top, just to make it look neater and make it sturdier.

Of course, I had to try it out. I got out some jewelry. I put some rings on my ring holder, a bracelet in my bracelet pocket, some earrings on my earring screen, and three necklaces through the loops and down into the necklace pocket. I think it turned out quite well.

Here it is all rolled up. I think the sashes from my shirt make this look really nice when it’s rolled up. It’s fairly compact and flexible. It will fit in my bag right along with all my other neat stuff!

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Sewing projects. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

