Cheap Fleece Throw Gets Upgraded to First Class

During my last trip back to the states I bought a cheap fleece blanket. I think I paid $2.99 for it. I bought it at a discount store. I thought this is great I can take it with me on the trip back. We all know airplanes can get kind of chilly. So I did, but by the time I got to my destination I was covered in fuzz. There was fuzz everywhere Fuzz, fuzz, fuzz. I wasn’t pleased to be arriving in the airport all fuzzed up.

I got this idea to put some fabric on the back of it to keep me from getting fuzzed up. All you are going to need for this project is a fleece throw, an old sheet and lots of thread.

Lay your throw out onto the sheet. It can be a top sheet or a bottom sheet, but make sure you don’t need it anymore you don’t want to use a sheet you need.

To use a bottom sheet, cut the seams at the corners. This should make your bottom sheet flat. Cut away the elastic. You can use that later so don’t throw it away.

Cut around the throw. Make sure you have about two inches around on all sides.

I wanted to make a “tie” to be able to tie the throw up and a couple of pockets to put a pair of slippers in and an eye mask. So I also cut pieces of cloth out for the pockets. For the sash or tie I cut a piece of fabric the length of the throw and about 4 inches wide.

The first thing I did was hem up the pockets. I originally was going to make them unlined, but I decided that I would pretty it up a bit with some fabric from the shirt I used to make my jewelry roll. I hemmed it and sewed it to the fabric I cut for the pockets.

I also hemmed up the sash piece. Sew up the left and right ends of the sash first, then turn it right side out and pin the long side up. Once I had all my pockets sewn I placed them on my throw.

The pockets needed to be placed in a corner. This particular throw can be folded up in quarters on the short end and then rolled up. So this is the area that is going to show when the throw is all rolled up. That is where I wanted the pockets. I made sure to leave space at the edge because the edge is going to get hemmed up. I sewed the pockets on. I even used the collar from the shirt to make a kind of neat pocket.

After the pockets were on the next thing I had to do was sew the throw to the piece of fabric. I pinned it good side to good side, although the fabric from the sheet was so bad there wasn’t really a good side or bad side so I just guessed. I made sure to pin my sash on the inside beside the pockets. I sewed up three sides and left the top open.

I then turned the whole thing right side out and hemmed up the top of the throw. The blanket is essentially complete, but I wanted to do some top stitching to give the whole thing a more polished look and to make the seams stronger.

The top was already done, all I had to top stitch were the other three sides. I chose a color of thread that would kind of fade into the fabric. It’s always a good idea to save those little spools of thread of all colors someone who sews invariably ends up with.

With barely enough thread I completed my top stitching. My throw was done!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There are a few advantages of doing this to a fleece throw.

  1. No more fuzz on my clothes. I now have a lining to keep the fuzz from getting on me.
  2. I have pockets to place a pair of slipper socks and my eye mask.
  3. I have a sash to tie the whole thing up. If there isn’t enough room in my backpack for whatever reason I can tie the throw to my backpack handle and carry it around that way.
  4. It’s a lot prettier than it was before.

So the next time you think about just cutting up an old sheet for rags, think about using it instead to fix up a throw or blanket.

 

 

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Sewing projects. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

