Baked Stuffed Mushrooms

 

Recently my commissary has started carrying mushrooms that customers can buy by the pound. You pick out the mushrooms yourself, no blue styrofoam here. When I went to the commissary today everybody was nice and friendly, they were giving away free samples, and all the fruits were arranged all pretty. No, it’s not normally like that. They were sucking up to the regional managers, but at least I found some good mushrooms. In fact, these mushrooms were huge! My first idea when I saw them was: stuffed mushrooms.

I got the basic recipe from Fanny Farmer, which I have already expressed my love for on this blog. I then modified the recipe a bit.

The basic recipe:

  • 12 large mushroom caps
  • 1/4 pound butter
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 TBSP parsley
  • 1 TBSP chopped onion
  • 1/2 TSP salt
  • 1/2 TSP pepper
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese.

My additions & alterations:

  • Keep the stems
  • 2 slices cooked bacon
  • Use cheddar instead of Parmesan
  • no onion, but I don’t know why I did this, but I’m being honest here.

The first thing to do is give the mushrooms a quick rinse. I know there are people who would argue with me about this. They would say that you’re supposed to use a mushroom brush to just brush off the mushrooms and not rinse them, but rinsing is quicker so that is why I do it.

After you rinse the mushrooms take the stems off. You don’t have to cut them off, just twist them off. Set them aside.

Turn the oven on to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Melt the butter in your baking dish. Remember it has to be big enough to get the mushrooms in a single layer. Also brush the mushrooms with some of the melted butter. You can go ahead and put them in the pan.

Get a mixing bowl and put the bread crumbs, onion, parsley, pepper, salt, cheese and bacon in the bowl. Go back to your mushroom stems. Chop them up into tiny pieces. Add them to the bowl. Then add the egg. Stir this all up to make sure everything is evenly distributed. You can add more breadcrumbs if you feel like the mixture isn’t cohesive enough and even another egg, but don’t make it too runny.

Fill the mushrooms caps with the filling. Use all of it. Then sprinkle some more parsley on top, it makes it look prettier.

Put this in the oven for 15-20 minutes. Note that if some of your mushrooms are excessively large, and I had a couple, it may take longer for them to bake all the way through. Let them cool a couple of minutes, then enjoy.

You don’t have to stuff them with the things I said, you could stuff them with anything you wanted to really. You could mix cooked chicken into your filling or crab meat, or clam meat, or a vegetarian alternative. You also don’t have to use butter. You could use some oil on the outside of the mushrooms, but you’re not going to get the same flavor. You can try to bad mouth butter all you want, but nobody can argue with its flavor.

These can be good as part of a meal or an appetizer.

 

 

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baked Stuffed Mushrooms

  1. Patricia Winter says:

    You saved my New Year’s Eve tradition of stuffed mushrooms. Just moved and didn’t unpack everything yet. I needed my Fannie Farmer cookbook and couldn’t find it. Thankfully though you listed the recipe on your site. Yours sounded good, but I am alergic to bacon. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

