Food Marks

If you’re like me, you have a collection of cookbooks and a few favorite recipes that you like to use. The problem is remembering where those recipes are within your cookbooks. This can be especially hard if you have a cookbook that is several hundred pages long. Some cookbooks also don’t have that great of indexes so it’s not exactly as easy as turning to the index and finding the recipe you want.

I happened to have quite a few copies of the Kraft Food and Family magazine that I wasn’t going to use anymore for the recipes because the recipes include too many processed ingredients, so I decided that I would cut out pictures from some of the issues.

I decided to use those pictures as bookmarks for my cookbooks. To do this you will need pictures of food, index cards, glue, and laminating paper.

The first step is of course to cut out your images. You will want to get a clean work surface. I used the back of my cutting mat.

Put some glue on one side of an index card. The index card is to give some strength to the whole thing. If I just glued two images together it wouldn’t be very strong. Use a small paintbrush lightly dipped in water to smooth the glue over the entire surface of the index card, then glue the card to the back of the image you would like on front of it.

Put glue on the back side of the index card and use the same technique with the brush. After images are glued on both sides, cut out around the index card.

Allow the cards to dry. Some of them might roll up a little. Once they are dry you can place them under a stack of books to make them flat again.

Cut pieces of laminate paper to fit your cards. I ended up making 13 food marks. I thought I had made 12, but I had made 13.  Anyways, after I laminated both sides, I used some of those “Fancy” scissors that cut designs in paper to cut the cards out. Remember to leave some laminating paper on the edges of the cards.

Here is my collection of “food marks” ready to mark those great recipes in my cookbooks. They almost look good enough to eat. 🙂

 

Here are a few of them in action in my Fannie Farmer Cookbook. I had mark cream of tomato soup and cream pie of course.

You could do a lot of different things along this idea. You could use some scrapbook or origami paper as a background then place an image on that to make them fancier. You could also put an image on only one side and put useful information on the other (ounces/metric conversion, cake pant conversions, substitutions, tips for certain recipes, etc..).

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Paper crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

