Taking in a Shirt and Fixing a Cami Strap

This is my shirt. I actually like this shirt. “So what’s wrong with it?” you ask. Well, it’s too big in the waist and as a result I used Safety pins to cinch it up and now there are these little holes on the back of it.

Since I would actually like to wear this shirt without the waist billowing out around me and without sticking safety pins in the back, I am finally going to take it in.

This is actually pretty easy, so if you would like to do this, go put your shirt on inside out, button all the buttons, it’s not as hard as you’re thinking it is to button buttons while wearing a shirt inside out, then pin where you would like to take it in at.

That’s exactly what I did. Here is one of the sides where I pinned it up. You need to pin on both sides not just one side. This is why it doesn’t look like I am going to be taking in that, much, but in reality I am taking it in a lot. The idea is to get it tight enough to wear it looks good, but not tight enough that it’s uncomfortable to wear.

I know my marks on this photo aren’t the most prominent. Those marking pencils just aren’t very strong against many colors. If you are doing this you should mark a line that you want to take in. Start in the armpit and arc it down the side.  This is the line you are going to sew down.

You could also take the seams apart and take it in that way, but you don’t really need to. I sewed up the little holes on the back made by my safety-pinning. They were small enough that I could sew them up and the shirt wouldn’t really suffer aesthetically. You can cut out the material you don’t need anymore or leave it in.

Taking in a shirt to suit your body is going to make you look better when you dress. Shirts and pants are made from one pattern, not the pattern that would suit our bodies. So if you have a shirt that you feel is really ill-fitting, just take it in yourself. It’s going to make you feel a lot better about wearing that shirt and a lot better when you’re dressed.

My cami I like to wear under this shirt also has a problem. That is right, the strap is broke 😦 . For over the past year it’s been this way. I just safety-pinned it and left it that way. I know, I know I am like the queen of safety-pin alteration, but that is going to change.

To fix a broken strap lay the good-side of the strap against the good-side of the shirt where it’s supposed to attach. By doing this we get rid of ugly frayed edges that would be showing in the front if it was done a different way. Arrange everything as shown in the picture. Then sew through it several times. This is made of modal and it’ stretchy. So make sure it’s sewn up nice and tight.

It’s a good idea to use a thread the same color as the cami you’re fixing.

Next, I laid the now fixed cami flat on the sewing machine. I am going to sew across it again. This time using a zig-zag stitch. I just wanted to give it a little extra strength since it’s been broken before. Sewing across the strap zig-zag several times is also going to tame some of those fraying ends that came about because the strap broke. Once I have done that it’s finished!

Here they are together! I admit, I am not really a fan of button up shirts. Most of the time they look sloppy because they don’t fit right. It makes a world of difference to have button-up shirts that fit correctly. I know there isn’t much of a difference in the photo, but it made a world of difference when I tried it on.

The killers of cami straps are the washing machine and dryer. The straps can get tangled up in other laundry and that is how they break. That is how all of my cami straps I have ever had destroyed have been broken. The laundry is a dangerous place for clothes. I don’t have any advice to prevent this other than suggesting that you put your camis in a mesh lingerie wash bag when doing the laundry. I don’t do that, but you could if you were really worried about the straps breaking. It’s a really good idea to put your underwear in a mesh bag though. Bras can be expensive and no one wants to open the dryer to a broken bra strap. Maybe I’ll do a wash bag later as a project.

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Sewing projects, The Basics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

