T-Shirt Laptop Sleeve

I know all you have this T-shirt you really like. You’ve worn it many times, it’s faded, it might have stains, it may be too big or too small now, but you just can’t bear to part with it. What do you do with it? You make it something you can use, that’s what!

“When there’s something weird, going on in your neighborhood…Who you gonna call?! Ghostbusters! “

That’s right I’m using a Ghostbusters shirt, which I love. It used to glow in the dark, but now it doesn’t anymore. I guess that glow in the dark stuff wears off after many washings. On the front of the shirt is the Ghostbusters logo and on the back it says:

“I ain’t afraid of no ghosts”

I am also going to use that part.

I am not only going to use this shirt, but an additional long-sleeved black shirt that is beyond its prime. It has stains of who knows what on it, and it’s just time to find another use for it.

The idea is to turn these two shirts into a laptop sleeve that’s awesome. It will be one of a kind.

I cut up the plain black t-shirt. I cut along all of the seam lines, I also cut off all of the hems. If you do this you end up with a front piece, a back piece and two sleeve pieces. T-shirts are made of only four pieces of fabric.

I then laid my laptop on top of the front piece of the plain black shirt. Why the front piece? You can use the front piece or the back piece, but I used the front piece because it was stained up and I didn’t want to use it on the front of my laptop sleeve. I am also going to turn it to use the wrong-side as my right-side, that way the stains will be on the inside rather than the outside of my laptop sleeve.

I cut a piece of fabric around the laptop. You don’t have to use your laptop for size you can take its measurements and use them, but I find it easier and more accurate to use the laptop while doing these types of projects. The piece of fabric needs to be bigger than the laptop because it needs a seam allowance.

This is going to be an “envelope” design so the front piece will be shorter than the back piece. I took what was the back piece of my plain black T-shirt and cut a piece that was the width of, but not the length of the laptop. It left about three inches from the top of the laptop. You can see my top piece here to the left.

 

 

 

 

I then cut the “flap” piece for the laptop sleeve. It needs to be the width of the laptop, but only about 3-4 inches long. You can see my piece to the left. The measurement of the shirt-side of this flap is going to depend on your laptop. It needs to be in proportions. Obviously if you have a netbook, the piece you cut for the “flap” is not going to be anywhere near the size of the piece I cut for my “flap.”

So, you may be thinking that I have neglected the Ghostbusters shirt. I haven’t it comes next.

I cut out the Ghostbusters logo leaving more than an inch around it on all sides. I also cut out the “I aint’ afraid of no ghost” words from the back, also leaving more than an inch around it. I then turned the edges under each piece and pinned them where I wanted them on my pieces of fabric. I decided the logo could be on the main piece of the front, and that the words could be on the flap. After these were pinned on, I took them to the sewing machine and sewed them on.

I know these two blacks are not the same color. One of my main reasons for turning the plain black shirt to the wrong-side was because that color was closer to the black of the Ghostbusters shirt than the right-side was. You may be thinking that black is black, right? Wrong. What is black is different to each person. Since these shirts were produced by two different companies, each color of black is different. One of the blacks was warmer and the other was cooler, it almost looked blue, but it was still black. If you have ever taken a color theory class you know all about how colors can be warm or cool versions of that color, so that is what is going on here. Let’s get back to the laptop sleeve.

Once I had the fabric pieces sewn on, it was time to do a little hemming. I pinned the top of the front piece to hem it, and I also hemmed the left, right, and bottom sides of the flap. These all need hemmed. They aren’t going to get hemmed, when this is put together.

Once the two pieces were hemmed up, it was time to actually start sewing the laptop sleeve. I pinned the back to the front, good-side to good-side. By good-side to good-side, I mean the sides I picked to be the good sides. I pinned up the left, right, and bottom sides. I then sewed them together using a zig-zag stitch because I wanted to take up more area.  Once this was sewn up I turned it right-side out.

This is the sleeve turned right-side out. The top of the back piece has already turned inward on the right and left side. It needs hemmed up. So I pinned it up and sewed it.

Next I pinned the flap to the main piece. It’s pinned good-side to good-side to the back of the sleeve. I sewed that up, also using a zig-zag stitch.

It was time for my laptop to try on its sleeve. I put the laptop inside of the sleeve and then turned the flap down. I pinned the flap to the side in such a way, that it wouldn’t cover any part of the logo and it was tight enough around the laptop. I then took the laptop out and sewed the flap to the side of the sleeve.

 

 

 

 

Here it is! My one of a kind laptop sleeve. You can really see what I was talking about concerning the two different colors of black, but I’m not worried about it. I found a use for two old t-shirts.

You know, that sweat stained concert t-shirt you have in the attic behind some boxes? You could do this to it.

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Sewing projects. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

