Kindle Cover Flip Top

I have this shirt that I really like. I have had it for five years. It goes great with pants and skirts. It has great colors and a great pattern, but it’s not really wearable anymore. The fabric has gotten thin, there are holes in a few places, and it’s just looking worn. I didn’t want to just throw it away, so I decided a Kindle cover would be the thing to do.

The necessary items are fabric, cardboard, batting, some elastic, some Iron-on Velcro and a little imagination.

The first thing I did was cut the shirt along the seams. This will give me a good idea of how much fabric that I have to work with.

I used a t-square to mark a cardboard piece just a little bigger than the Kindle all the way around. The piece ended up being 5 X 7-3/4 inches. This is the size you would need for a latest generation Kindle. Any other size and I wouldn’t know.

I cut the piece out using an exacto knife. Scissors will work, but your run the risk of damaging your cardboard trying to get the scissors all the way down the piece of cardboard. It is necessary for this piece to be square, meaning that all the corners are 90 degree angles.

You can use the 3-4-5 rule, AKA the pathagorean theorem to check your angles. Measure 3 inches down one side, measure 5 inches down the other, and the distance between the two spots should be 5 inches.

I cut out two pieces exactly alike. One for the front and one for the back.

Since I was making a flip-top design I needed a hinge piece for the top. To get the correct measurement I layered one piece of cardboard, a layer of batting, the Kindle, another layer of batting, and then the other piece of cardboard. This measurement turned out to be 3/4 inch. That makes the hinge piece 5 X 3/4 inches.

Here are the three cardboard pieces together.

Next, I cut some batting. I wanted to have batting on both sides of the cardboard pieces. I cut one long piece for each piece of cardboard and turned it over. I used a strip of scrap batting for the little piece. I attached it with staples, but hot glue would also work.

I laid out my fabric, in this case the back of what was my shirt. There was enough fabric there for the entire project.

I laid out the cardboard/batting pieces like they would be in the finished product. I left a little wiggle room in between the pieces. I then cut out around the entire thing leaving room for hemming. There need to be two pieces, one for the outside and one for the inside. If there is a piece that is prettier use that for the outside.

This shirt also had straps. I am going to use one of the straps for some decoration and function. I cut a small piece off of one of the straps to use as a closure for the case. I also cut several other pieces. I am going to use them to make a mock bow on the front of the cover. I cut one piece that went all the way across, another that I folded the ends under, and an even smaller piece to place in the middle of all of that.

I also cut another piece out of the fabric that was going to act like a little pocket for the bottom of the Kindle. The piece is about 5 inches wide and 3 inches high. This piece is going to be hemmed up and then used to hold the bottom of the Kindle.

Next, I laid out the piece that was going to be used for the inside of the case. I put a piece of the cardboard underneath. This step is to determine where I need to sew the elastic and little pocket on. I used a sharpie to make dots on either side of the Kindle where these things would be sewn on. The elastic needs to be tight enough that it holds the Kindle in place. It’s going to stretch across the top of the Kindle. There also needs to be enough elastic to hem it under on the ends.

I hemmed up the little piece for the pocket and now it was ready to be sewn onto the piece of fabric I marked. I am sewing it on beforehand because this cannot be attached later, it has to be attached before everything else is sewn up.

I sewed down each side and then across the bottom. I used the Kindle to check for a correct fit. I did need to tighten up the pocket a couple of times to make the kindle snugly fit inside.

I took the piece I cut for my mock bow and hemmed the ends under. I then used a decorative stitch to sew them all together.

After that I attached it to the part of the outside piece of fabric that was going to be the front. There was no need to hem the ends of this bow piece because it’s going to be sewn in when the case is put together.

Here is where I attached my mock bow to the fabric piece.

After I got the bow, pocket, and elastic sewn on, I then placed the inside and outside pieces good-side to good-side to sew them together. I sewed down each side and across one of the short ends. I wanted the hem to be on the bottom rather than on one of the sides.

I needed to try out the pieces inside of the cover several times. At first the cloth part was too loose, so I had to take it in several times. There shouldn’t be a lot of wiggle room when the cardboard pieces are inside of the fabric piece. The fabric should be pulled tight across the cardboard, otherwise the Kindle won’t be held properly. The cardboard will have to be wiggled in place, that is how tight the fabric should be.

I then got ready to hem up the bottom. I put my little piece I cut earlier from the sash to act as a closure. I pinned it inside of the hem and then sewed it up.

 

 

 

 

Once everything was sewn up I turned my attention to the hinge part. I pushed the small piece over and pushed one large piece of cardboard all the way down. There was some space in between which I wanted to sew through. I sewed this by hand, because it won’t fit in the sewing machine. Once that was sewn up I pushed the small piece of cardboard over to the opposite side, and then sewed in the space that was made.

Next I got my iron on Velcro and attached one side to the closure piece and another to the cover.

Here it is all finished! My Kindle fits inside of it. The bottom sits in the pocket that was made and the top is strapped down with a piece of elastic. The whole thing can be closed with the Velcro closure.

Here is the finished outside. My Kindle is inside being all snug, but also looking pretty in its new case.

This is a project that takes a little planning, but if you put your mind to it, it’s not hard to do. You could use any fabric you liked to create this. The materials are simple and you can put some personality into it.

It took me a while to post this post, not because the project took a while, but because WordPress has been having some issues. So I am sorry for the delay. WordPress was the subject of a distributed denial of service attack, you would know if you got WordPress e-mails. This basically means a bunch of jerks got together to access the website all at once to overload the websites servers. Ever since WordPress has been cooperating sometimes and other times it hasn’t. I tried to post this post at least five times.

About Ashe

I always said my dream job would be to get paid for sitting in a corner and drawing all day long. Now, I have to ammend that idea of my dream job. I think I would like to sit in a corner and be able to get paid for drawing and writing.
This entry was posted in Paper crafts, Sewing projects. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

